مدينة الخليل

الخليل: تاريخها:

تعتبر مدينة الخليل واحدة من أقدم المدن في العالم وتقع على 40كم إلى الجنوب من القدس في الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة. والخليل مدينة مقدسة للديانات السماوية الثلاث ويقال أن نبي الله إبراهيم عليه السلام سكنها وتوفي فيها ومدفون في مغارة الماكفيلا/المسجد الإبراهيمي مع زوجته سارة وأبناءهم اسحق وزوجته رفقة وحفيد إبراهيم يعقوب وزوجته لائقة. وتاريخياً، كان هناك فترات عاش فيها اليهود جنباً إلى جنب مع الغالبية المسلمة في الخليل.

ما بين عام 1500 إلى 1900 كانت الخليل جزء من الإمبراطورية العثمانية، وخلال عام 1920 حصل توتر ما بين المسلمين واليهود في الأراضي الفلسطينية وبدأت تزداد وكان ظهور حركتان سياسيتان دينتيان: الصهيونية والتي دافعت عن وطن قومي لليهود، والأخرى كانت الوعي الفلسطيني المتنامي لدولة فلسطين حرة مستقلة، وكلا الحركتان ادعت بنفس الأرض، وفي عام 1929 حدثت مجزرة في الخليل حيث قُتِل فيها 67 يهودياً و 100 جريح. تم حماية 400 يهودي من قبل الجيران الفلسطينيين، وبعد المجزرة تم إخلاء السكان اليهود إلى القدس من قبل سلطات الانتداب البريطاني، وفي عام 1936 لم يكن هناك سكان يهود في الخليل.

بتاريخ 14/05/1948 انسحبت القوات البريطانية وأعلن رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بن جوريون تأسيس دولة إسرائيل. أصبحت الخليل تحت الحكم الأردني الذي استمر لحرب الأيام الستة عام 1967 حيث احتلتها القوات الإسرائيلية مع باقي مدن الضفة الغربية.

الانتفاضة الأولى:

بتاريخ 13/09/1993 وقع رئيس منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية ياسر عرفات ورئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي اسحق رابين على إعلان مبادئ (اتفاقية أوسلو) والتي نصت على اعتراف متبادل بين منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية وإسرائيل وعلى إيجاد سلطة وطنية فلسطينية وانسحاب جيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي من عدد من المدن الفلسطينية، وفي عام 1994 في وقت مسيرة أوسلو للسلام، قام مستوطن يهودي بالدخول إلى المسجد الإبراهيمي أثناء الصلاة وفتح النار وقتل (29) من المصلين وجرح ما يزيد عن 125 آخرين.

1995: اتفاقيات أوسلو:

تم التوقيع عام 1997 على اتفاقيات الخليل وقسمت الخليل إلى قسمين H1 و H2

H1 تسيطر عليها السلطة الفلسطينية وتابعة للمنطقة A بينما H2 تسيطر عليها إسرائيل وهي خليط من المناطق B و C.

الانتفاضة الثانية:

الخليل اليوم:

يبلغ تعداد سكان الخليل 215,000 نَسَمه (المحافظة 729,000) وتاريخياً كان هناك أوقات من العيش المشترك لليهود مع الغالبية المسلمة في المدينة. واليوم هناك من 500 إلى 800 مستوطن يهودي يسكنون البلدة القديمة وإضافة إلى 6000 إلى 9000 مستوطن يسكنون في المناطق المجاورة للمدينة في كريات أربع خارج المدينة.

مدينة الخليل مركز تجاري وصناعي في المناطق الفلسطينية المحتلة وتكوِّن تقريباً ثلث الضفة الغربية. وقطاع الحجر يشكل القطاع الرئيسي للصناعة، ولكن أيضاً صناعة الأحذية والجلود وكذلك مشاغل الخزف والزجاج تساهم بالاقتصاد للمدينة. ومع ذلك يواجه الكثير من المنتجين المحليين مصاعب في التصدير والإنتاج وحتى بإرسال منتجاتهم إلى القدس بسبب القيودات المفروضة عليهم من السلطات الإسرائيلية.

ومنذ الإنتفاضة الثانية، شهدت مدينة الخليل على سوء الأوضاع الإقتصادية  وتراجعا في الأوضاع الإقتصادية خصوصا للمواطنين الفلسطينيين في منطقة  الخاضعة للسلطات الإسرائيلية والبلدة القديمة. وبعد مجزرة الحرم الإبراهيمي عام 1994، تم إغلاف المركز الإقتصادي الرئيسي في البلدة القديمة في شارع الشهداء، الذي كان جزء منه مغلق أمام حركة الفلسطينيين. ودعا بروتوكول الخليل إلى إعادة فتح الشارع والذي نفذ جزئياً عام 1997 و 19988 ، لكن منذ الانتفاضة الثانية تم إغلاق الشارع أمام الفلسطينيين

Hebron

History of Hebron

The city of Hebron is one of the oldest cities in the world, situated 40 kilometres south of Jerusalem in the occupied Palestinian territory. Hebron is a holy city for the three major monotheistic religions and it is said that Abraham lived and died in the city, and that he is buried in the Cave of Machpela/Ibrahimi Mosque with his wife Sarah, their son Isaac and his wife Rebecca and the grandson of Abraham Jacob and his wife Leah. Throughout history, there have been periods with a Jewish minority living side by side with a Muslim majority in Hebron.

From early 1500 to early 1900, Hebron was part of the Ottoman Empire. Following World War I, Hebron fell under British administration, which became known as the British Mandate. During the 1920s, tensions between the Muslim and Jewish population in the Palestinian territory began to increase and was a result of the rise of two political and religious movements: Zionism, which advocated for the creation of a national homeland for Jews. The other was a growing Palestinian consciousness for and independent and free Palestinian state. Both movements made claim on the same land, and in 1929, a massacre took place in Hebron where 67 Jews were killed and close to a 100 were injured. Some 400 Jews were protected by the Palestinian neighbours. Following the massacre, the Jewish inhabitants were evacuated to Jerusalem by the British Mandate Authorities and by 1936, there was no Jewish population in Hebron.

On 14 May 1948, the British Forces withdrew and as Israeli Prime Minister Ben Gurion declared the foundation of the State of Israel. Hebron came under Jordanian Rule which lasted until the Six Day War in 1967 when the city was occupied by Israel along with the rest of the West Bank.

On 13 September 1993, the Chairman of the Palestinian Liberation Organisation, PLO, Yasser Arafat and the Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin signed the Declaration of Principles (the Oslo Accords), which provided for mutual recognition between the PLO and Israel, the creation of the Palestinian National authority and the withdrawal of the Israeli Defence Forces from a number of Palestinian cities. In 1994, at the time of the Oslo Peace Process, a Jewish settler entered the Ibrahimi Mosque during prayer, opened fire and killed 29 worshippers and injured more than 125 others.

1995 Oslo Accords

In 1997 the Hebron Agreement were signed and Hebron was divided into two sectors: H1 and H2. H1 is controlled by the Palestinian Authority and comparable to Area A. H2 is controlled by Israel and is comparable to a mix of Area B and Area C.

 

Hebron today

Hebron has about 215,000 Palestinian inhabitants (729,000 in the governorate) and throughout history there have been periods with a Jewish minority living side by side with the Muslim majority in the city. Today, there are 500 to 800 Jewish settlers living in the Old City, and an additional 6000 to 9000 settlers residing in the adjacent city of Kiryat Arba just outside the city.

Hebron is a commercial and industrial centre in the occupied Palestinian territory and it accounts for roughly one third of the GDP in the West Bank. The city’s stone industry is the main sector, but also shoes and leather products as well as Hebron’s pottery workshops and glassblowing factories contribute to the commerce in the city. Yet many local producers face difficulties in exporting their products, or even sending them to Jerusalem, due to restrictions imposed by the Israeli authorities.

Since the second intifada Hebron has seen a financial decline, particularly for the Palestinians in H2 and the Old City. After the 1994 Massacre, the main commercial hub of the Old City, Al-Shuhada Street, was partially closed to Palestinians. The Hebron protocol calls for a reopening of the street, which was partially implemented in 1997 and 1998. However, since the second intifada, the street has been closed for Palestinians.

 

The Holy Site: the Ibrahimi Mosque/Cave of Machpela

After the 1994 Massacre in the Holy Site, the building was divided into two parts – a Muslim and a Jewish. Worshippers of the two faiths shares the Holy Site all year. Ten days every year the whole site is open exclusively for the Jews and ten days exclusively for the Muslims. The Holy Site is today controlled by the Israeli Security Forces.

Hebron settlements

In 1968 a group of Israelis were given permission to spend Passover in a hotel in Hebron. As the holidays came to an end the group remained in the hotel and received support to stay from several Israeli politicians. Only after several months a compromise was reach between the group, led by Rabbi Levinger, and the Israeli authorities and the group was given a piece of land in the east of Hebron which IDF had confiscated. This was the start of Kiryat Arba settlement, which now has an estimated 7,000 to 9,000 residents. Read more about the settlements in Hebron here.