تاريخ البعثة

 

تأسست البعثة في عام 1994 بعد مجزرة الحرم الإبراهيمي. وفي يوم 25 شباط 1994، قتل مستوطن يدعى باروخ جولديشتاين الذي كان يعمل طبيبا في الجيش الإسرائيلي 29 من المصلين وجرح 125 أخرون. تم قتل جولديشتاين من قبل المصلين الذين نجوا من الحادثة. تسببت المجزرة بأعمال شغب في الأرضي الفلسطينية وقتل 25 فلسطيني اخر في مدينة الخليل من قبل قوات الأمن الإسرائيلية في الأيام اللاحقة.

وفي يوم 18 أذار 1994، أصدر مجلس الأمن في الأمم المتحدة قرار قرم 904 وأدان بشدة المجزرة في الحرم الإبراهيمي وطلب بإتخاذ إجراءات لتوفير الحماية والامن للشعب الفلسطيني. وبعد المفاوضات، قام ممثلين من منظمة التحرير في السلطة الفلسطينية وإسرائيل بطلب من إيطاليا والنرويج بتزويد مراقبين لتواجد دولي مؤقت في مدينة الخليل. تأسست البعثة الأولى لمدة ثلاثة شهور من يوم 8 أيار 1994 ولكن نتيجة لعدم موافقة الأطراف على وجود دولي إنسحبت البعثة من مدينة الخليل في يوم 8 أب من نفس العام

lduniformsediteb
أعضاء البعثة عام 1994

وبينما استمر  اتفاق أوسلو، تم التوقيع على اتفاقية أوسلو (2) المؤقتة بتاريخ 28 سبتمبر 1995، وتدعو هذه الاتفاقية إلى إعادة انتشار جزئي لقوات الأمن الإسرائيلية في الخليل ولتواجد دولي مؤقت في الخليل، وثانياً بينما تقوم قوات الدفاع الإسرائيلية بإعادة الانتشار. وبتاريخ 29 نيسان 1995 حضر فريق نرويجي من التواجد الدولي المؤقت في الخليل وتمركز في مدينة الخليل وقام بوظيفته لغاية إعادة الانتشار الجزئي الإسرائيلي في الخليل بتاريخ 17 يناير 1997.

إن طبيعة التواجد الدولي المؤقت في الخليل بشكله الحالي هو نتاج بروتوكول الخليل والذي طالب كلاً من النرويج وإيطاليا والسويد وسويسرا وتركيا بتوفير مراقبين للبعثة في الخليل، وتكون النرويج هي المنسق للبعثة، وقد وضعت اتفاقية التواجد الدولي المؤقت في الخليل الخطوط العريضة للمهام المناطة بها ويتجدد تفويض البعثة كل ستة أشهر. بتاريخ 21 يناير 1997، تم التوقيع على اتفاقية التواجد الدولي المؤقت في الخليل بتاريخ 30 يناير وقد وقعت الدول  الست المشاركة على مذكرة تفاهم بما يتعلق بالتواجد الدولي المؤقت في الخليل وذلك في أوسلو. وفي الأول من فبراير بدأت دوريات التواجد الدولي عملها في الخليل. وترأس النرويج بعثة التواجد الدولي المؤقت في الخليل، ولهذا الرئيس كامل المسؤوليات العملاتية ومسؤول نشاطات البعثة.

الدول المساهمة:

يتم تمويل البعثة بالكامل من قبل الدول السِّت المساهمة ومراقبوا بعثة التواجد الدولي المؤقت في الخليل هم من ست دول مساهمة ويتمتعون بخلفيات متنوعة، بعضهم ذات خلفية مدنية ويتحدث إما العربية أو العبرية إضافة إلى الإنجليزية. ومراقبون آخرون لديهم خلفية شُرَطيَّة أو عسكرية لكن ليس لديهم هذه الوظيفة في بعثة التواجد الدولي المؤقت في الخليل وهم يعملون الآن بصفة مدنية

اجتماع الدول الأعضاء 

للدولالخمسة المشاركة سلطة اتخاذ القرار في عمل بعثة التواجد الدولي المؤقت في الخليل ، كما وتلتقي مرتان سنوياً (مرة في الخليل وأخرى في واحدة من عواصمها) ويسمى اجتماع الدول الست والذي يتم التنسيق له من قبل دولة النرويج من خلال منسق محلي من القنصلية النرويجية في تل أبيب.

مجموعة الاتصال المحلية:

تتكون مجموعة الاتصال المحلية من ممثلين في سفارات ومكاتب الدول المشاركة لدى إسرائيل والسلطة الفلسطينية وتشكل منتدى للدول الست المساهمة بالبعثة بحيث تبقى على تواصل بالمعلومات حول التطورات لدى البعثة في الخليل  بحيث يكون بوسعهم الاتفاق على قضايا ذات علاقة بسير العمل لدى البعثة.

منطقة المسؤولية:

إن منطقة مسؤولية بعثة التواجد الدولي المؤقت في الخليل منصوص عليها في بروتوكول إعادة الانتشار في الخليل  خارطة البعثة

Background

TIPH was established in 1994 as an international invention following a massacre in the Ibrahimi Mosque. On 25 February 1994, Baruch Goldstein, a settler and IDF reserve medic entered into the Ibrahimi Mosque and killed 29 worshippers and injured another 125. Goldstein was killed by survivors in the attack. The massacre triggered riots across the occupied Palestinian territory and in Hebron another 25 Palestinians were killed by the Israel Security Forces in the following days.

On 18 March 1994, the United Nations Security Council issued resolution 904 in which it strongly condemns the massacre in Hebron and called for measures to be taken to guarantee the safety and protection of the Palestinian civilians. After negotiations, representatives from Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO) and Israel signed an agreement asking Denmark, Norway and Italy to provide observers for a temporary international presence in the city of Hebron. The mission was set on a three-month mandate from 8 May, 1994, however, as the parties could not agree on an extension of the mandate, TIPH withdrew on from Hebron on 8 August the same year.

As the Oslo process continued, an interim agreement, Oslo II, was signed on 28 September, 1995, calling for a partial redeployment of the Israel Security Forces from Hebron and for a second Temporary International Presence in Hebron to be established as the IDF redeployed from the city. On 29 April, 1996 an all-Norwegian TIPH set up in Hebron and it operated until the partial Israeli redeployment from Hebron on 17 January, 1997.

TIPH in its present form is the result of the Hebron Protocol which calls for Denmark, Norway, Italy, Sweden, Switzerland and Turkey to provide observers for the mission in Hebron, with Norway as the coordinator. For the time being Denmark is not contributing to the mission. The agreement on TIPH outlines the tasks and mandate of the mission and is renewed every six months. On 21 January 1997 the Agreement on TIPH was signed and on 30 January, the six contributing countries signed a Memorandum of Understanding regarding TIPH in Oslo. On 1 February the observers started patrolling in Hebron. TIPH is led by a Norwegian Head of Mission, who has the full operational responsibility and is in charge of the activities of the mission.

Contributing Countries
The mission is funded entirely through the five contributing countries.
TIPH observers come from the five contributing countries and have various backgrounds. Some of the observers have a civilian background and speak either Arabic or Hebrew in addition to English. Other observers have a police or military background, but they do not have this function in TIPH. Here they are working as civilians.

Capitals’ Meeting
The  five contributing countries have the decision-making authority in TIPH and meet twice a year (once in Hebron and once in one of the capitals) in a Capitals’ Meeting, which is coordinated by Norway through a Local Coordinator from the Norwegian Embassy in Tel Aviv.

Local Contact Group
The Local Contact Group consists of representatives of the embassies and representation offices to Israel and the Palestinian Authority and is a forum for the five contributing countries to stay informed about the developments in the mission and in Hebron, as well as a space where they can agree on policy issues and the running of the mission.

Area of Responsibility

TIPH Area of Responsibility (AoR) is established through the Protocol Concerning the Redeployment in Hebron. Read more about TIPH AoR here.

 

lduniformsediteb
TIPH members in 1994